SLOLAF’s Legal Director Stephanie Barclay receives  John L. Seitz Community Service Award 

 SAN LUIS OBISPO, December 19, 2018 – The San Luis Obispo County Bar Association recently presented Stephanie Barclay with the John L. Seitz Award for Community Service.

Barclay was hired as Project Director of Senior Legal Services Project in 2013 and elevated to Executive Director of San Luis Obispo Legal Assistance Foundation (SLOLAF) in 2014, a new position at that time. Barclay has recently moved into the position of Legal Director for SLOLAF, a new position created as a result of SLOLAF’s growth since Barclay joined the organization. During her tenure with SLOLAF, Barclay is credited by her colleagues for taking the organization from a budget of $50,000 to $350,000, from a staff of one employee to four employees and more volunteers than ever before, and from one program to three programs, increasing legal services for seniors, veterans and families in need in San Luis Obispo County.

When presenting the award at the San Luis Obispo County Bar Association’s annual holiday party, Michael Seitz noted that he could not recall an award recipient ever receiving as many nominations from the local bar as Barclay, including many past award recipients, a current sitting judge and a retired judge.   “Our community is so fortunate to have Stephanie Barclay bring her many talents to serve those in need.  She guided San Luis Obispo Legal Assistance Foundation through tremendous growth, making it the impactful and respected organization it is today,” said Sheryl Wolcott, President of the San Luis Obispo County Bar Association. The Seitz Award recognizes those lawyers whose community contributions exemplify the best attributes of the legal profession.  The award is generously funded by the Seitz family, and is named for John L. Seitz, a long-time San Luis Obispo County attorney.  The award includes a donation of $1,000 made to the charity of the recipient’s selection. Barclay has selected San Luis Obispo Legal Assistance Foundation as the recipient of the $1,000 donation.